voidbattlemage:

weedle-testaburger:

thescotchinthenorth:

arthicat:

elphabaforpresidentofgallifrey:

breaking bad, fight club, rick and morty, clockwork orange, and the catcher in the rye are all arguably good things – but if a man says they are his FAVORITE book/movie/tv show? RUN.

Can someone explain this to me?

They’re all works that are examinations of compelling but deeply flawed (usually narcissistic and violent) men. People rightly like all these works because they are good, but the implication of the original post is that if a guy says they are his favorite work, he is probably misunderstanding the point of the work and instead idolizing the male protagonist and is unable to recognize their flaws.

Basically, ask why they like it. If they like it because they think it’s well-written and made, you’re probably good. But if they want to be like Walter White, or Tyler Durden, or Rick Sanchez, or Alex DeLarge, or Holden Caulfield: yeah, RUN.

Finally I can reblog this post.

lampfaced:

itsladykit:

4 reasons you shouldn’t just tear it all down

Sometimes, it’s very tempting to start tearing things down, to disconnect and disengage when you’re upset. Because you feel like you don’t belong somewhere or you feel like no one wants you or you feel like the things you make are pointless and stupid. It’s tempting. It is. I know.

Destruction is so much easier than creation. Even easier now—click a button and an account is gone, a file’s erased. Easy.

Here’s why you shouldn’t—

  1. Someone, somewhere enjoys the things you made. Sometimes they feel like your works speak directly to them. They identify with the struggles and hardships of your characters. Or maybe they just enjoy the softness of the scene. The sweetness of it. Don’t take that away from them. Just because you can’t find value in it doesn’t mean someone else can’t. Let other people enjoy the things you’ve made.
  2. It’s okay to be niche. Like the things you like. Even when it’s ‘weird’ or unusual. Other people occupy that same niche. Even if it’s not their usual thing, even if they only occasionally drop in to take a look around, that doesn’t mean they don’t like what they see.
  3. It doesn’t matter if you’re off in the corner producing the kind of content only a few people enjoy, or if you’re in a creative slump and feel like you aren’t producing anything at all. That’s okay. You are not defined by the quality or quantity of the things you make. Don’t pressure yourself to do or be more than you’re comfortable with. There are no standards to meet, no bar to pass. You’ll get better with practice, but be nice to yourself in the meantime.
  4. You have value as a person, beyond the things you make. You aren’t perfect, but no one expects you to be. There will be people that don’t like you, and there will be people you don’t like. But there will also be people you like and people who like you. Not just your content, but you as a person. You are wanted.

Destruction is easy. Disconnection is easy. Creation is hard. Connecting with other people is hard too. It’s not always fun. It’s not always a good experience. There will be pain. I won’t lie to you about that. But the good will outweigh the bad. Don’t deny yourself the opportunity to experience the good things because you’re afraid of the bad.

And remember, it’s okay to step back and retreat for a little while. It’s not all or nothing. You can put a hold on things. You can back away. And you can do that without destroying the things you’ve made and cutting off from the people you care about.

I’ve had so many artists I looked up to as a younger teen up and delete everything with no warning. I’d saved a lot of their art so that I could continue to enjoy it, and then my hard drive crashed and deleted everything, and left me with no way to recover any of it. Years of work, thousands of files no longer online, gone. Some of these people were enormous influences on my art and now they’re nowhere to be found online that I know of. But because I was extremely shy and never communicated with any of these people, or even actually hit the follow button on whatever site, they never knew. I can only imagine how many other people out there are like I was.

I try to leave up my old art now, even though I hate looking back at it most of the time. Early on, I followed in their footsteps of getting rid of everything by either completely deleting old “nasty” art, or literally throwing away physical pieces I’d never shown to anyone. If I could go back and throttle myself into keeping those things, I would. I might hate looking back at my old art, but I also like to see how far I’ve come when I’m having a slump and feeling like I’m not improving at all. Between the Great Hard Drive Crash and losing sketchbooks in various moves, I’ve lost so much of what I’ve done along the way.

out-there-on-the-maroon:

bipolar-bubbeleh:

digitaldiscipline:

gen-is-gone:

must-be-mythtaken:

must-be-mythtaken:

Hot take: Westley is way too dramatic and Extra ™ to not be bisexual.

He can fence with either hand, if you catch my drift

By this logic, which is utterly impeccable, so is Inigo.

Of course he is. That was the most flirtatious sword fight in cinematic history. You could literally cut the sexual tension with 2 swords.

*slams the reblog button so hard* This, THIS is the kind of content I want to see!

I remind you he convinced a notoriously murdery pirate captain to keep him alive via a Scheherezade Gambit, the specifics of which we never do learn about. 

the-bluebonnet-bandit:

gay-jesus-probably:

obaewankenope:

pastelmemer:

raivaryn:

moldy-mac-n-cheese:

genquerdeer:

100slytherin:

goldstarprivilege:

appropriately-inappropriate:

wirstdate:

liefplus:

if u weren’t aware of salvation army’s homophobia, its prety hardcore

a guy in a salvos truck yelled at me and my gf while we were kissing today so I was thinking of this

Do you know, when I was in high-school I went to the mall near my house with my girlfriend to do some Christmas shopping.

We were there, sixteen year old me and seventeen year old her, holding hands and window-shopping, minding our own business.

This Salvation Army shitheel gets aggro about it in the middle of the mall and I’m there totally flabbergasted cause like, it’s christmas

Only, 16!Tabi had even less composure than 26!Tabi, so I lost my fucking mind on her.

Thing is: when I’m really angry, I don’t rage, I go all cold and apparently that freaks people out, because I could see my gf backing up and the lady getting tense and then I realized that anger doesn’t solve problems.

So instead, I started wailing.

Picture this: 5’4, tiny, blonde haired high school girl with her little violin on her back and pearls in her ears just as PTA-approved as could be, full on sobbing in the hallway.

Just, sobbing like my dog’s been shot.

Now my gf’s like, “oh fuck” and the lady’s like “oh fuuuuck!” and I’m here, head thrown back, tears down my cheeks and in that shrill, distressed, /loud/ voice, “WHY WOULD YOU B-b-be so MEAN?! It’s CHRISTMAS!”

And the lady’s like “please stop Oh fuck” because now we have a crowd, and this Molly Weasley of a woman putters over, “what’s the matter, dear?”

And mall security’s coming and this bell ringer is looking very uncomfortable so I just look at this matronly ellen-watching suburban housewife lady, eyes wide and wet and my lip wobbling.

“I was, she s-said, s-s-she said I was going to HELL!”

And I burst right back into tears.

Maaaaaaaan, they didn’t even stick around to ask why she’d said it. Soon as I said it, Mall po-po bounced her like a fucking pogo stick.

We get outside and my girlfriend’s like “that is the most Slytherin thing I have ever seen anyone do.”

It was four years before I saw the Army back in that mall.

that is beautiful

Holiday reminder: don’t let anyone get away with trying to make you feel bad about yourself.

They are also violently transphobic, and Salvation Army ran homeless shelter refused to let in Jennifer Gale because she was trans, leading to her freezing to death on the sidewalk right outside it!

So yeah, they’re not just ‘homophobic’, they’re bigoted fucking murderers.

(Wikipedia article on her death conveniently (for SA) omits Salvation Army connection, linking only to expired articles from local newspapers)

SA claims that they didn’t turn her away, and accept all homeless people, except, it’s not like Jennifer Gale was only trans woman refused shelter by Salvation Army, making this denial appear to be worth less than bullshit:

https://thinkprogress.org/salvation-army-refuses-housing-shelter-to-transgender-woman-2660c79b4cd4#.bo53qrxf9

http://www.msnbc.com/way-too-early/transgender-woman-claims-she-was-refused-housing

and to think i was gonna help my aunt with this…

Annual reminder not to trust what our SA donations actually support.

There are plenty of other charities who help out the needy this time of year. Support a local food bank or community housing center.

THIS IS SO IMPORTANT I’ve told ppl this but now I have sources

Salvation Army are scum. Judgemental assholes.

And let’s all remember that one twitter thread from a homeless woman in a Salvation Army shelter SPECIFICALLY warning people that the SA is a piece of shit and nobody should donate to them

🎊Tis the season for reminders: Salvation Army is a horrifically conservative as well as plainly ineffective charity that runs more like a business. And actively spreading reasons not to support them helps them wither amd make room for more productive and hollistic charities.

Another great seasonal reminder: Slytherins are awesome 🐍🐍🐍

Hi i just got into the fandom and i still haven’t read the book but please give me a rundown on les amis d’ABC i literally can not tell them apart other than Enj and R

marius-new-hat-and-coat:

Welcome to the fandom!! This is going to be super unprofessional and not at all Victor Hugo-worthy, despite coming straight from the book, but c’est la vie. All these pictures come from the movie, which is why most of them kinda suck because they really don’t get the screen time they deserve but oh well. It’s the most accessible adaption of Les Mis so it’s nice to have faces to look for!

I’m gonna go ahead and put this all under the cut because it’s a lot longer than I thought it would be.

Keep reading

ekjohnston:

maramahan:

Y’know, NaNoWriMo isn’t actually about getting 50,000 words in 30 days

Yeah, that’s the Goal – but it’s not what it’s about

NaNoWriMo is about sitting down, starting a project, and learning to manage that project and keep going even when it gets hard

it’s about building skills and forming habits and developing discipline and learning more about yourself as a creator so you can get a sense for what writing methods do/don’t work for you

its about trying things – about making discoveries and making mistakes, and about making progress without getting mired in the minutia so you end the month with more words than you had when you started

It’s framed like a contest ‘cause goals and prizes make things fun, but you’re only really playing against yourself

50,000 words is only a target to shoot for ‘cause without a target it’s pretty hard to practice your aim

It is, and I cannot stress this seriously enough, also about making the people in your life respect your writing time.

worldsworstfather:

garashirs:

hamlet,,, has adhd

  • hyperfocuses (his mother’s remarriage, his father’s death; both are topics he regularly returns to, even when they don’t have anything to do with the topic being discussed)
  • forgetfulness (doesn’t seem to remember how long his father has been dead for, keeps changing the length of time when he talks about it)
  • easily distracted (often stops mid-sentence and rapidly moves on to a new, completely unrelated topic)
  • frequent and compulsive talking, often hyperfixating on one specific point (see: all his soliloquies)
  • low tolerance for frustration
  • restless
  • often gives the appearance of not listening; has actually heard and internalised every word
  • interrupts and intrudes on others’ conversations
  • mood swings
  • insomnia (although this could be a side-effect of his grief over his father’s death)
  • depression (again, though, see above)
  • poor self-image

creepsandcrawlers:

cydril:

thegrumpyhedgehog:

lesbianeowynn:

dimetrodone:

Apparently before Tolkien specified that hobbits look like humans some people thought they were some sorta weird critter

LotR remake with an elf, two men, a dwarf, a wizard, and four really big rabbits in coats

^^^^^^

Early editions also left out a detailed description of Gollum, giving us these lovelies

these slap and Jolkien Rolkien Rolkien Tolkien was a coward and bastard for opposing them

Don’t kill yourself, please.

biggest-gaudiest-fish:

ooh-discoursey:

ask-anxietyhorrorborn:

sounddesignerjeans:

lethalcrown:

irishbabay:

sprinkle-dicks:

piercethefvck:

If you’re suffering from depression and are looking for a sign to not go through with ending your life, this is it. This is the sign. We care.

If you see this on your dash, reblog it. You could save a life.

image

Just in case you don’t think it can actually save a life, this is a message I got in my inbox after reblogging this post

I don’t care what the theme of your blog is. Reblog this.

Always

image

I wanted to add this because I was on the fence about posting it, but I got this when I did. Please reblog this post, it really could save someone’s life.

reblogging, as a person who deals with depression..and wanted..to swallow pills and overdose a few times.. ere ya go..

as a survivor, if you want to kill yourself, let me tell you one thing: don’t.

Pinky swear you won’t, you can’t break a pinky swear