Les Amis as John Mulaney Quotes Part II – Kid Gorgeous

permets-tu-not-permettez-vous:

Enjolras: “I don’t care for these new Nazis, and you can quote me on that.”

Combeferre: “I don’t know if my dad was discouraging me from being gay or encouraging me to be a classical composer.”

Courfeyrac: “Thank you for clapping at my political gazebo material. I’m very brave.”

Feuilly: “You want my money? Go get it!”

Bahorel: “You don’t always get to see the things that you paid to see. Ever been to the goddamn zoo?”

Jehan: “So rather than violate these meaningless politeness rules, I’ll just go to be in a smock like goddamn Ebenezer Scrooge.”

Grantaire: “I lived like a goddamn ninja turtle. I didn’t drink water the entire time. I lived on cigarettes and alcohol and Adoral.”

Joly: “Fourteen years ago I smoked cocaine the night before my college graduation. Now I’m afraid to get a flu shot. People change.”

Bossuet: “I thought I was going to be murdered my entire childhood.”

Musichetta: “I don’t remember that in Hamilton.”

Eponine: “Brush your teeth, now boom! Orange juice. That’s life.”

Marius: “I don’t really know what my body is for other than just taking my head from room to room.”

Cosette: “You spend most of your day telling a robot that you’re not a robot. Think about that for two minutes and tell me you don’t want to walk into the ocean.”

*cares too deeply about Marius/Cosette*

somuchbetterthanthat:

I feel like people might care more about Marius & Cosette and how embarrassingly cute they are if more adaptations included: 

  • ALL THE TIMES THEY JUST LOOKED AT EACH OTHER “SUBTLY” in the park
  • Their “first argument” with Marius mad at nothing and Cosette being bemused and a little bit frustrated because this happens when they haven’t even talked to each other yet so she has no idea why handsome boy is being an offended idiot. 
  • The way they only kiss once and then they spend their time talking to each other. 
  • THE WAY THEY TALK FOR HOURS AND MANAGE NOT TO SAY THEIR NAMES TO EACH OTHER UNTIL THEIR CONVERSATION IS OVER
  • The time they giggled like adorable idiots for so long after Marius admits he used to think she was called Ursula 
  • The two hours where Marius bangs his head against a tree while Cosette cries because her father wants to leave for England. 
  • two hours. seriously. I just. 
  • this SHOULD BE IN EVERY ADAPTION EVER. 
  • Cosette tending to Marius while he’s sick after the barricades.
  • Cosette cheekily saying that she’s got Marius so she doesn’t need a maid. I’m not going into kinky territory, i’m not but …
  • Cosette holding her new husband at night because he has nightmares he doesn’t want to talk about, Cosette whispering reassurances and not asking about those names that pass through Marius’ lips sometimes. 
  • Marius holding his wife as she mourns her father and apologizing for hours and hours because it was because of him that Cosette couldn’t spent those last months with her dad, and Cosette feeling so angry at Marius and herself, feeling so guilty and lost and clinging to her husband. 
  • Marius and Cosette having only each other in the world as the people who truly cared about them and are not abusive (looking at you Gillenormad) are dead
  • MARIUS AND COSETTE OKAY. 

They’ve got so much potential as adorable dorks in love. When people ignore them, include them only because they feel they have to but spent so little time on them, when they’re called boring, or idiots, or annoying, or WORSE (looking at all the people who ever said Cosette and Marius should have died. AREN’T THERE ENOUGH DEAD PEOPLE IN LES MIS why them if you want to kill more Thénardier père is still fucking alive at the end of the book and a slave trader NOW WHO’S FUCKING WORSE), it hurts my soul. I love those romantic babies. I want them to be healthy with each other and support each other and love each other for the rest of their lives. 


https://aroacevaljean.tumblr.com/post/178795642901/audio_player_iframe/aroacevaljean/tumblr_pg1tvxeFJ41wqi3v7?audio_file=https%3A%2F%2Fa.tumblr.com%2Ftumblr_pg1tvxeFJ41wqi3v7o1.mp3

eposettemyass:

My pronunciations of Les Amis’ names 🙂 hope it helps 🙂

  • Enjolras
  • Combeferre
  • Jean Prouvaire
  • Jehan
  • Courfeyrac
  • Bahorel
  • Feuilly
  • Grantaire
  • R
  • Lesgle
  • Bossuet
  • Marius Pontmercy

coolfeyranch:

no but i just want a modern au where valjean is depicted as like a sterotypical big burly scary biker or whatever and he has all these tattoos he probably got in prison and he seems intmidating when in reality hes like the worlds sweetest person and is all shy and junk and constantly talks about how his daughter is just so wonderful

basically i want modern au valjean to be depicted as that one biker jk rowling was talking to who gave her the inspiration for hagrid

queerpercy:

queerpercy:

BUT HOGWARTS AU WITH ENJOLSETTE SIBLINGS WHO ARE RAISED BY FANTINE OKAY

so fantine is a muggle, but she’s like super beautiful, and tholomyes is a wizard. and they date for a while, and fantine (who is obviously a smart person) figures out that he’s a wizard and then proceeds to find out more about magic. like she’s DYING of curiosity and he’s a douche who won’t tell her anything about the magical world, even though he claims to ”’love her”’ so then she leaves him because she doesn’t want to be with someone who isn’t honest to her 

but then she finds out she’s pregnant with twins. and enjolras and cosette are born. and like the idea that they might be magical doesnt even really occur to fantine for a long time, until one day enjolras and cosette are fighting over who gets the last pancake and cosette makes it magically float over to her plate. and then enjolras retaliates by magically making cosette’s orange juice fly up and hit her in the face. and then they both start tattling on each other to fantine

so then the next day, fantine tries to go to diagon alley, imagining that she can buy some books or something to help her understand more about magic so that she can help her children. but of course she can’t get in, because she’s a muggle. and sits down on the sidewalk for a while. and then a strange looking v tall wizard in a tattered and faded cloak- valjean – walks by and taps her shoulder and asks whats wrong

and she tells him about her life and enjolras and cosette and everything, and she begs him to let her into diagon alley because she really wants to know everything she can about magic so she can do the best for her children. and valjean smiles and kindly tells her that even if she goes in, she wont be able to buy anything, because all she has is muggle money. and she sighs and thanks him for listening and gets up to leave

but then like within seconds, he’s back, holding a bag overflowing with stuff. and she’s like “how did you do that so fast?” and he’s just like “i went in and bought stuff and then used a time turner to get back here. its no big deal.” and she laughs and tears up a little and hugs him and thanks him and then runs back home

and in the bag are things like mini broomsticks, the book ‘the tales of beedle the bard’ and other books like that, and a few wizard history books and a book about hogwarts so that fantine knows what to expect when enjolras and cosette turn eleven 

and the next few years are difficult because its hard to raise two children who literally disappear and reappear somewhere else when they dont want to take a bath or go to sleep. but they’re really fun years and then enjolras and cosette get their hogwarts letters and fantine cries because she’s not going to get to see her babies everyday anymore 

#THE MINISTRY OF MAGIC GOES AFTER VALJEAN BC HOW DARE HE LET A MUGGLE KNOW WE EXIST #AKA HERE COMES JAVERT IN THE STORY (via)

peremadeleine:

I’ve been pondering the symbolism behind Valjean’s Christmastime rescue of little Cosette since Christmas Day, because honestly, the odds of Hugo choosing Chistmas randomly are pretty slim. He isn’t exactly subtle.

Cosette is hardly the infamous “Christ-like figure” of literature. But there are some striking elements that (deliberately, I would argue) fit in with the Christmas narrative: Valjean’s second gift to Cosette (after the doll, Catharine) is a gold Louis. Ultimately, he gives her three gifts—Catharine, the coin, and a new dress [i.e., the gifts of the Magi].

Cosette also sleeps under the stairs on a “bed” made up mostly of straw, as Christ slept in a manger; add to this that the Thenardiers run an inn, in which Cosette is provided no room, [though not because there is none].  On Christmas Eve, Mme. Thenardier also tells her husband that the next day, she will force Cosette to sleep outside (presumably in the stables/with the animals).

Valjean and Cosette also flee Thenardier from Montfermeil to Paris in what, upon further reflection, is probably an allusion to the Holy Family’s flight to Egypt.

Less-obviously, but still related to this scene, Fantine is—despite the degradation, desperation, and poverty of her final months of life—described as being pure (or as pure as she can be) and modest, and is a symbol of idealized motherhood. She may not be a virgin, but she’s clearly an “Ave” figure to whom connections with the Mother of God can be drawn. Moreover, though she was almost certainly born before Tholomeyes abandoned Fantine, Hugo almost makes it seem as if Cosette is fatherless from the first.

So yes, we can—and are probably meant to—say, “Aww, Christmas!” and get warm and fuzzies from Valjean’s adopting Cosette that day. But I think it’s really fascinating to dig a little deeper and see the significance of Christmas in the story.